Older and Better

 

More beautiful today than you were at 20 - Sharon Stone in a Dior ad

 

I went through part of last year thinking I was a year older. While I was delighted to find out I was actually a year younger, there was no denying that I am growing OLD. I had spotted my first crow’s feet and more people are calling me “Aunty”, including a taxi driver who is actually older than I am.

Two dear friends turned 30 last year. I told them after 30, the years go by very fast. You’d probably find yourself panicking about all the things you have yet to achieve, all the things you want to do and worrying if you could retire in comfort.

Hitting 30 is not downhill all the way. Being in my 30s (no, I’m not telling you my exact age) is great in so many ways:

Fewer insecurities                                                                                                            

You care less about what others think of you. 

You learn to love your looks                                                                                                

I used to hate my kinky hair and wished for straight hair like all those Chinese girls. Now I’m thankful for the extra body all that frizz gives. Big butt? Loved it  since J Lo turned it into her asset. 

You get your priorities right                                                                                      

My friend Wee Ling slaved her 20s away at work. Now she goes off early when she can and travels around the world for concerts and gigs. 

Better skin                                                                                                                            

Fewer zits and better skin texture. Either my hormones have finally settled down or all those expensive skincare and facials are showing results. 

More confidence                                                                                                              

Like good wine, it simply gets better with age. 

Better taste                                                                                                                           

You just learn what works and cultivate a better sense of aesthetics.

More money                                                                                                                          

Ha ha. Now I can afford to buy better clothes and travel to places I once only dreamed of. 

Wisdom                                                                                                                                

There is no shortcut to this. You have to earn your stripes.

Leave a Reply

