When a Croissant Saved My Day

I had tonight’s dinner at 10-ish, in front of the TV watching American Idol. I left the office at close to 8, didn’t have to wait long for the feeder bus, nor the LRT, and arrived at KL Sentral just in time to catch the KTM Komuter train.

Alas, my jubilation at the prospect of reaching home by 9 (it’s usually close to 1 1/2 hours) was thwarted by KTM’s erratic efficiency. Just one more station to home, we were told to disembark and wait for the following train which would arrive shortly. Two false alarms that headed for Rawang later, the train to Sentul finally showed up after tiring of playing hide and seek.

Reaching home so late, I contemplated having a juice of blended fruits for dinner. But I had to finish leftovers from my weekend experiment gone wrong – chicken with caramelised baby onions and honey and butternut squash soup. Both sounded promising but fell short of expectation.

I decided to make a sandwich with the croissant I bought earlier from Hock Lee’s Mini Market. I warmed it in the oven, lined it with lettuce and stuffed it with shredded chicken and onions that was more of a gooey texture than the caramelised crush the recipe reviewer promised.

It was my third time eating Hock Lee’s croissant. First time I was pleasantly surprised, second, I was delighted, third, I was sold! Hock Lee’s croissant is the best I’ved ever tasted for as long as I can remember.

Why am I waxing lyrical over a croissant? Like the humble half-boiled egg, this pastry is a simple food, yet difficult to get right. Most times, it’s either too dry and ‘bready’, or flaky and messy. Hock Lee’s has just the right balance of firmness and moistness. And it aces the true measure of the perfect croissant – that buttery taste that spreads over the tongue like a blanket on a chilly day. Mmm, mmm, mmm… ┬áthe croissant was the perfect ending to what could’ve been a crappy day. It even made my leftovers taste great!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by kl on April 27, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I’m a huge croissant lover too. I’ve not tried Hock Lee’s. Carrefour’s is not too bad and reasonably priced. A real bargain when they have promotions. Do try The Breadshop at Jalan Setaikasih 5, Bukit Damansara. It’s a real gem!

    Reply

    • The croissant at Hock Lee’s is also the same one supplied to the bakery at Bangsar Village. I don’t remember the brand, it starts with an ‘H’. Hmm… never thought of Carrefour’s. Will give it a try.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

