A New Door Opens

Late last year, I crossed out another thing on my to-do list. Paint my kitchen door.

While the developer gave us a nice solid brown door for the main entrance, our kitchens got a flimsy white door. I’ve always toyed with the idea of giving it a looking in-looking out design. Inside, I ‘see’ outside with a design of the outdoors. Outside, I get a ‘peek’ inside with a design of the interior, like a drawing of my back as I stand over the sink. Or stove. But since I can’t draw, that idea gathered dust.

Blah.

Then, while I was browsing at the HomeDec expo, I came across two wall stickers (at two different booths!) that fitted my concept perfectly. The next thing to do was buy the paint. While I would love to have an Elizabeth Arden red door, lime green would be better for the stickers and the colours of my kitchen – white cabinets and black granite countertop. The colour sounds tacky but it’d pop out nicely from the neutral background. I fell in love with the colour when I used it for my shoe cabinet.

So, after five years, I have a ‘brand new’ door.

Inside looking out.

Outside looking in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you are painting anything glossy, make sure you can spare enough time to complete the job in one go, or at least enough to finish one coat. As I did it over a few days, my brush dried out and became clumpy. (Thinner did not help much.) So some spots on the door are a bit uneven (if you look hard enough).

4 responses to this post.

  1. It looks great! At times like this, I wish I had my own house to “play” with!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Swee on January 12, 2011 at 9:08 am

    That’s a cool looking door.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

