What are you wearing today?

My favourite kebaya top.
I should wear this more often as yellow spots have started to form.


I often get asked these at work:
Got date, is it?
Going for meeting?
Interview?

That’s because I dress up for work. In my line, the dress code is more relaxed. Great! No stuffy suits and boring court shoes. But I do enjoy nice clothes and I believe they should not be left in the cupboard. What’s the point? Why wait for a date, meeting or interview? Do you really need an excuse to put on your best?

If you do, this may put things in perspective. It’s been making its rounds online.

A friend of mine opened his wife’s underwear drawer and picked up a silk-paper-wrapped package.
‘This,’ – he said – ‘isn’t any ordinary package.’
He unwrapped the box and stared at both the silk paper and the box.
‘She got this the first time we went to New York, 8 or 9 years ago.
She has never put it on, was saving it for a special occasion.
Well, I guess this is it.’
He got near the bed and placed the gift box next to the other clothing
he was taking to the funeral house; his wife had just died.

I have yet to decide on what I want to be cremated in. But in the meantime, I’ll put on my best dress, special occasion or not.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by SPKuang on December 23, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    You have a real talent for spinning words into a story, highly engaging. I know we havent conversed on the phone (much less meet in person) as much as it should have been, but reading your blog (when Im in meetings..yeah, Im culpable of not being totally attentive at work) helps keep abreast of your (well) being. Glad I found your blog again (beside the Lobster one).

    Reply

  2. Thank you, SP. It’s always great to know someone’s reading and enjoying what I write. Besides A Book Summary, I also write on Just Follow the Recipe and Through My Mata Sepet (this one on photography). I haven’t written in a while though. Been busy and lazy. Will get to it soon, hopefully before the year ends. Happy New Year! I’ll go with the Mayans’ ‘to a new beginning’.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

